News & Programme
Visiting Cramond
Information Leaflets
The Cramond Fish
Cramond Through the Ages
History Section
Cramond Heritage Trust
Community Council
50 Years of the Cramond Association
Cramond Management Group
Photo Gallery
Map of the Association's area
Our Committee


All members of the Cramond Association are most welcome to join The History Section.

The History Section subscription for the whole season is £6.00.

Visitors Welcomed – £1.00 per meeting

Venue: All meetings take place in the Millennium Room of Cramond Kirk Halls at 7:30 pm.

Enjoy your season with The History Section!

Una Woof, Convenor.


Evening Meetings are held in the Millennium Room of the Cramond Kirk Hall, Cramond Glebe Road.

Evening Meetings:  All in the Millennium Room, Cramond Kirk Hall, Glebe Road.

Our first meeting will be on the 12th October, 2016.  Meetings begin at 7:30 pm for the talk and questions; teas/coffee/biscuits and chat follow at about 8:50 pm in the Gathering Place.

Wednesday 12th October 2016 "Sharing Yarns"
The Story of the Great Tapestry of Scotland
Speaker: Dorie Wilkie
Wednesday 9th November 2016 "North and South: The Scottish Experience of Italy in the 18th Century"
Speaker: Dr. Lucinda Lax, Senior Curator of the 18th Collection at the National Portrait Gallery
Wednesday 15th December 2016 "Cramond Association’s Carols by Candlelight"
7:30 pm
Wednesday 18th January 2017 "Barnton Quarry Restoration Project"
Recreating a World War II three-level underground Operations Control Room and Cold War Bunker.
Speaker: Mr. Grant More
Wednesday 15th February 2017 AGM: followed by
"Charles Piazzi Smyth, his time as Scotland’s Astronomer Royal"
Speaker: Doctor Bruce Vickery
Wednesday 15th March 2017 "Scottish Silver of the Mediaeval Period"
Speaker: Doctor Martin Goldberg
Wednesday 12th
April 2017
"The History of Queensberry House"
Speaker: Ms Jenny Calcott
  The Outing: To be arranged on a date in May.

Contact: Norah Carlin, Convenor of the History Section, tel 476 0832.


Hon. Convenor
Norah Carlin
0131 467 0832
Hon. Secretary
Una Woof
0131 336 5233
Hon. Treasurer
Tom Woof
0131 336 5233
Committee Members:
Lois Bryden 0131 336 4797
Norah Carlin 0131 467 0832
Charles Conner 0131 312 7590
Nan Rennie 0131 312 6308
Bill Weir 0131 312 8147


Wed 2 Oct 2013 'The Life and Work of David Livingstone’
Speaker: Revd. Dr. Russell Barr
Wed 27 Nov 2013 ‘Houses and Castles of the Scottish Borders’
Speaker: Mr. Jim Evans
Wed 18 Dec 2013 ‘Carols by Candlelight’
7:30 pm
Wed 8 Jan 2014 ‘The Life of Henrietta Anne Stuart’ 
Speaker: Ms. Kate Gillespie
Wed 5 Feb 2014 AGM: followed by 'The Fisherwomen of Fisherrow'
Speaker: Mr. Simon Fairlie
Wed 5 Mar 2014 ‘The Battle of Bannockburn’
Speaker: Mr. Murray Cook
Wed 2 Apr 2014 ‘The Briggers, the Forth Bridge from Inception to Completion’
Speaker: Mr. Frank Hay